Veterans Day

Well today was a much needed day off, I know that the only reason I am able to have today off is because of all the brave men and women that will fight for my freedom to actually write this! So for those that have been in the military or those who have loved ones that are in the military thank you thank you thank you!

As you can see from today’s pictures I have had an extremely productive day. It started off with frick and frack on the side of the bed annoying me because they were ready to get up and get the day started. We got up a little after 7, and came downstairs. I watched a little tv and then used the gift card that my mom’s friend Donna gave me for my birthday to Tim Hortons! Yes my birthday that was in May – I told you I am a gift card hoarder and I will keep them until I actually need to use them. A Tim Hortons was put up about 2 miles from the house so I piled dumb and dumber in the car while in my pj’s and went to get a coffee.

I came back home and made myself some Huevos rancheros with some chorizo, and black beans! Not going to lie it was delicious. While I was getting that ready I got a phone call from the regional manager of Williams Sonoma. I think that I eluded to a problem that I had yesterday while I was at the store. You see I don’t like it when people make asses out of other people for no reason. Now don’t get me wrong I am all for picking on people when they deserve it or when it can be done behind their back (LOL) however to be in a position of leadership and yell at someone or make someone else feel small well….that shit just doesn’t sit well with me.

Yesterday during class one of the customers needed a question answered and the new general manager Jennifer yelled at the sales associate for asking the question and then made a point to make an ass out of the customer. This made the Bernie come out in me! I paced around the store after class trying to catch the little bitch to tell her that I found her demeanor to be appalling – however, she must have known I didn’t appreciate her as she hid in the back.

I then asked one of the other sales associates for the person that would rank above her and she said that it would be the other manager Trish – but that things wouldn’t get very far because they were friends so she gave me another name. I then reached out to a few other contacts and got the email addresses of the district and regional managers from WS. I sent a very nice email to them both explaining the situation and that I would appreciate a phone call back so that I could talk to them about it.

Well like I said earlier I was on the phone in the middle of my breakfast with the regional manager who happened to be an OSU alum. We chatted for about 15 minutes about how poorly this turd treats the other staff and customers. I stated that it had nothing to do with me as I will continue to go back to the store, but that if I were the one in charge I would want to know that this was going on. She appreciated me taking the time and apparently is going to send me a gift card or something. I told her that I wasn’t looking for anything but to make the situation better.

Once that ordeal was over, I started to organize my menu and recipes for Thanksgiving. Clearly I still need to buy all of the fresh stuff but I have a better understanding now of exactly what I need. When I was done with that I rearranged another cupboard, finished bringing the table and umbrella base in the house because we are supposed to get snow tonight, and then started my baking.

I made 3 batches of mom’s cut out cookie dough and put that in the freezer. Then I made grams pie crust split that into 4 equal size balls for pies that I will try and make next week, not sure that I made it properly but only time will tell. When I was done with that I made chocolate Reece’s peanut butter cookies for my friend Caity who had a birthday yesterday – I am going to take them into work for her tomorrow. Once all the baking was done I went out and mowed the lawn what I am going to assume was the last time for the season. Stranger things have happened but I am guessing that we are going to be in for one hell of a winter.

I did not clean up the dog shit before I mowed mainly because I thought that the turds would be frozen – ya not so much you see they were what one might consider damp – yep damp shit = smushed shit in the lawn mower. I felt like I was doing the f-in tango around the backyard as I attempted (successfully I might add) to avoid stepping in it myself. I cut the grass and then decided that to get rid of the smell of freshly mowed dog shit I would start the fire pit and sit outside while I grilled the chicken that I used in the recipe of the week!

The fire pit is still going right now, because the log lasts for 4 hours, but it should be running out soon. I got the chicken grilled and then made the tot casserole. It was really good the only thing that I think I would do differently next time would be that as the chicken is on the grill I might bake the tots a little so that they didn’t get as soggy on the bottom. I used the broiler for the last 5 minutes to give the tops a little crunch.

I sat down and ate dinner then we went back outside and sat with the fire pit. Very relaxing! I will probably leave the fire pit out until it is snowing on a regular basis. OK well I need to get ready to go to work tomorrow – I think that I might go upstairs and head to bed even though it is only 8:40!

I hope that you all had an enjoyable day!

Leave a Reply

