CTJ

Well today was yet another long day! I had to have a little come to jesus meeting with one of my staffers. This is not one of my favorite parts of management, not that I need to be liked but telling someone that they need to get their heads out of their asses well……that doesn’t always go over well.

What should have been about an hour long meeting turned into almost an hour and 45 minute long meeting, but at the end of it I think that my points were well received. At least I hope that they were!

This weekend I had also heard about an individual that I worked with at Syracuse that had suddenly died from a heart attack at 45. I am going to attach the article that I was forwarded today so that you can read about him. I don’t really remember him, but I do remember his wife – they had 2 children both under the age of 14.

One of the things that I took away from this was that friends and family need to come first – work is work and there are things that will always be there the next day. Now saying that there is a trade off for everything but if there is a plan of attack you should be able to get things done.

I sent the article to my entire staff as a reminder that what they do on a daily basis is important and that they need to take the time to find a work life balance. We do not nor will we ever make enough money for this to be the only thing that we do.

Please keep his family in your thoughts and prayers!
http://www.syracuse.com/orangefootball/index.ssf/2013/09/occ_athletic_director_and_form.html#incart_m-rpt-2

Leave a Reply

